top of page

FYLSE AND SCARE TACTICS


The FYLSE was by far one of the scariest things I have ever done. Being in a non-ABA accredited online law college I was putting it all on the line. My entire future rested upon whether I could pass this one single test. I attended the weekly study group sessions held by my schools Student Bar Association and listened week after week, while upperclassmen recounted their war stories of FYLSE failure. I watched Facebook groups devoted to the FYLSE where it was comment after comment about how to handle failure and the extreme difficulty of the FYLSE. I even went to a review weekend held by my school in California before the FYLSE and was subjected to three days of gut wrenching fear.

But, fear not! I passed on my first try. I was horrified the first day of the test; and my scores show it. I was so jittery that I was taking simple things out of context. My computer was slow to boot and my mind initially went racing to "writing the exam". Alas, I was just hyper vigilant and everything went fine.

The exam is only scary because we don't know what we are going to encounter. In law school they don't tell you all the secrets to Essay writing, so you go into the Exam clueless. Your professors don't give you the secrets to MCQ's because really there aren't any. But what you can do is talk to others who have taken the test, re-write all the previous FYLSE exam questions, get your rule statements down cold, practice MCQ's, and when you've done all that and still need help, reach out to us. We've been there and understand. Whether you just need confirmation, guidance, or tutoring we can help.

bottom of page